Anderson wins Tax Commissioner in Towns County

Anderson tax commissioner

TOWNS COUNTY, Ga – Towns County became slightly redder after electing a Republican Michael Anderson as Tax Commissioner on November 3, 2020.

Anderson received 5,158 votes (66.08 percent) and incumbent Bruce Rogers (D) earned 2,648 votes (33.92 percent). All other local races were uncontested.

For President, Towns County voters chose President Trump over former Vice President Joe Biden.

  • Republican Donald Trump: 6,374 (79.99 percent)
  • Democrat Joe Biden: 1,549 (19.44 percent)
  • Libertarian Jo Jorgensen: 45 (0.56 percent)

Senator David Perdue also carried Towns County in the effort to retain his seat.

  • Republican David Perdue: 6,281 (79.74 percent)
  • Democrat Jon Ossoff: 1,450 (18.41 percent)
  • Libertarian Shane Hazel: 146 (1.85 percent)

In the Special Senate Election, former Ninth District Representative Doug Collins carried Towns County. However, Loeffler and Warnock will be advancing to the January runoff.

Towns County voter turnout by precinct.

  • Republican Doug Collins: 3,992 (50.94 percent)
  • Republican Kelly Loeffler: 2,035 (25.97 percent)
  • Democrat Raphael Warnock: 1,017 (12.98 percent)

As for the new Ninth District Representative, Andrew Clyde (R) earned 6,255 votes (81.04 percent) and his opponent Devin Pandy (D) received 1,463 votes (18.96 percent).

Towns County will also have completely new representation in the Georgia General Assembly with District 50 State Senator-elect Bo Hatchett and District 8 Representative-elect Stan Gunter.

State Senator District 50

  • Republican Bo Hatchett: 6,282 (81.53 percent)
  • Democrat Dee Daley: 1,423 (18.47 percent)

Georgia House District 8 Representative

  • Republican Stan Gunter: 6,331 (81.54 percent)
  • Democrat Dave Cooper: 1,433 (18.46 percent)

Public Service Commissioner District One Jason Shaw (I) earned the majority of the vote in Union County as did District 4 Commissioner Lauren “Bubba” McDonald.

All results are unofficial until certified by the Secretary of State.

Leave a comment

Back to Top